Sam & Rochelle

Our Story

Hi! We are Sam and Rochelle.  We’ve been married for almost five years and love that we are able to call the city of Indianapolis our home. Sam works in broadcasting and public relations for a communications company and Rochelle started her career as a kindergarten teacher before transitioning to her job, now, in real estate.  Together we love to take our two bulldogs on walks, go to sporting events and concerts, play board games, travel and try new restaurants. Family and friends are at the heart of everything we do including Sam volunteering through the Big Brother Big Sisters program and spending time with our very large extended family. We truly value communication, an active lifestyle, and having lots of fun! We can’t wait to get to know you more.

Sam (by Rochelle)

Sam is my best friend! I value the way he loves and cares for every person in our life no matter background, race, or age difference. He lives life to the fullest and I can’t wait to parent a child with him. Sam is a sports man through and through, but he can watch a live Cabaret show and then turn around to watch a Pacers game. He is a diehard Michigan State fan – his alma mater – which has led me to learn about sports as well He gives his whole heart in everything he set his mind to, including eating an entire package of Oreos :). Sam has enjoyed being a Big Brother for many years, and seeing him be an amazing role model for his Little Brother has given me a glimpse of the kind of dad he will be.  Sam is also hard-working, loyal, generous, and loves me unconditionally!

 

Rochelle (by Sam)

Rochelle’s heart knows no boundaries.  I can’t lie, her beauty is what first attracted me to her, but her kindness and how she treats people are what made me fall in love with her.  She has a unique ability to make everyone around her feel special and can make friends in any situation or setting. She doesn’t care about sports, but I do, so she cheers as loud as anyone.  She can’t sing but doesn’t let that stop her from singing her heart out. Our journey together has been about as fun as I could have imaged because Rochelle always finds ways to make our experiences special even when she laughs at me when I try to build, literally, anything.  And for these reasons, I know she is going to be a tremendous mom. She puts everyone’s needs and feelings before hers and is always the first to lend a hand to help out and never asks for anything in return. I know she will do the same, and even more so, with our child.

 

Our Family

We met in West Lafayette where Sam was working as a news and sports reporter and Rochelle was finishing college at Purdue.  

Rochelle is from Indiana and most of her family is close by and have been a great support system throughout our relationship.  Sam’s family is mostly in the Detroit-area, but we talk and see them often. Both families are excited for us to expand our family with what will be our first child.

Our friend-circle is large and diverse, and we consider many of them family.  We are lucky to have people outside of our immediate family who we can rely on for support and fun. Many of our friends are parents so we have had the opportunity to spend time with their kiddos which we love!

 

Our House, Community, and Pets

We live in a three-bedroom, two-bathroom house just outside of downtown Indianapolis that was built in 1918 but has been completely renovated so it has aged character with a modern feel.  Our neighborhood is incredibly diverse mixed with a wide range of races, age, and religion which is why we picked this area to live. Our back yard in fenced in which is great for our two dogs, Mo and Griff, to run around and play, although they really just like to lay and take in the sun.  Mo is a seven-year-old American Bulldog who is very smart and responsive. Griff is a three-year-old English Bulldog who is the most loving animal we’ve ever been around and lives for naps.

We love that we are just a few minutes from downtown because we love going to events, outdoor concerts, and explore everything the city has to offer. Our neighborhood is also very walkable which is great for us and Mo and Griff.

 

On Parenting

We are looking forward to providing our child with a home full of love, not just from us but from our extended family and friends. We will support our child’s interest and encourage he/she to try new experiences both on their own and as a family.  Communication is key for us, so we want our child to know that there is nothing they can’t talk with us about or ask questions about – we will be open and honest.

Ultimately, we will focus our parenting so that our child is safe, loved, and encouraged to learn and dream. Please know we would share information about you in a way to show you respect and honor your decision.

 

Our Traditions

We have a few traditions that we look forward to every year.  On Christmas, we buy each other pajamas and exchange them on Christmas Eve so we can spend Christmas Day wearing them while we open presents and watch basketball games.

Halloween costumes are taken very seriously in our house.  Each year we have been together, we have done matching costumes including Squints and Wendy from “The Sandlot,” a “Saved by the Bell”-themed one, and “Noah and Ally” from the movie The Notebook among others.  

But, where most of our traditions center around is sports.  We go to tailgates at Michigan State (where Sam went to school) at least once a year during football season, spend Sundays downtown watching the Colts and Lions football, and make friendly wagers on March Madness – Rochelle has won four years in a row.  When it comes to sports, we enjoy every bit of the experience including playing in a flag football league together.

We are excited to establish new traditions as we welcome a child into our family. We really look forward to getting to know you and developing a relationship. 

Fun Facts

Sam

  • I once broke my arm trying to dunk a basketball. I failed.
  • I have a lot of sneakers.
  • I’ve been a Big Brother in the Big Brother Big Sisters program for 10-years to my little, Jayden.
  • I’ve lost count of how many tattoos I have, but I mostly love my sleeve on my left arm.
  • I’ve completed a marathon, sprint triathlon, two half marathons, and a 12-hour, 19-mile hike carrying 30-pound backpack.
  • I have a weird ability to get free concert tickets including to see Kanye West and Justin Timberlake.
  • My morning ritual is getting three cookies and Coke from McDonald’s.
  • I have three go-to dance moves.
  • I’ve seen every episode of the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air at least three times.
  • I have an obsession with Man Candles (Mandles).

Rochelle

  • I LOVE Harry Potter.
  • I’m a human jukebox – I know the words to A TON of songs.
  • I could eat nachos and queso for every meal.
  • I have eight tattoos.
  • I once had dinner with Katy Perry.
  • I love to play board games, darts and pool.
  • I like shopping for school/office supplies – I don’t know why.
  • My favorite shows are Big Bang Theory and anything crime-solving related.
  • I’m always cold.
  • I am an avid reader.

Mo

  • I love sticks - the bigger, the better
  • I’m always up for adventures, just say the words “Park” or “Car” and I’m ready to go
  • My favorite food is ravioli
  • I am a daddy’s girl
  • I’m told I snore, but I don’t believe it

Griff

  • No one snuggles harder
  • I like to sleep on my back with my legs in the air
  • I love my kiddie pool in the backyard
  • I’ll eat anything, literally, anything
  • My favorite spot in the house is on top of the heater

Photos