Lindsey & Matt

Our Story

Meet our family Matt, Lindsey and Jordan!  We currently live on the north side of Indianapolis and have been married for 4 ½ years, together 7 years, and friends for over 16 years! We have a lot of the same interests; we enjoy being outside and working in the yard, cooking out, and going on bike rides and walks with our dogs.  We try to stay active together by playing sand volleyball in the spring, summer and fall on a league. We also enjoy going to the lake and spending time together with our family. Family is very important to us and we are both  very close to our immediate family. Lindsey has been a manger of a barbershop for over 19 years, and Matt is in technical services at a company that makes medical grade refrigerators and freezers for different types of medical facilities across the world.

Its cliché but we didn’t choose adoption, adoption choose us.  We tried to start a family right away, knowing we were both more than ready to be parents but were unsuccessful. Adoption came up one day in a conversation, we both agreed that that was something we wanted. Adoption is not something new to Matt, he has multiple cousins on both his mother and fathers’ side who were adopted. We both love children and knew we wanted to raise children together. Jordan, 9, is Matt’s son through a previous marriage. He spends 50 percent of his time with us and the other half with his Mom.  He has a 2 ½ year old sister at his Mom’s that he enjoys spending time with. Both families have a good relationship and understanding that we are here to do what is best for Jordan.  Lindsey has been in his life since he was 3 and boy, do they love to team up on Dad by out voting him on silly things like what is for dinner or what they are going to watch on TV! To say they have a great relationship in an understatement. Jordan has taught us so much about parenting, as he has growing, we are becoming ever so ready to extend our family.

 

Community

We love spending time together whether it be at home on the couch, cooking a meal or out with our friends, we have always enjoyed each other’s company. All our friends tell us we were a match made in heaven. Being very open with each other there have never been any secrets. We both have the same outlook on life and what it takes to raise a child which is guidance and support that makes a child strive to meet their potential. We live in a 2 story home on the north side of Indy in a neighborhood with a 5 acre park and an outdoor pool with lifeguards. There are over a handful of children under 2 on our street alone!  The schools are great, a child can be involved in whatever they may want to do at all levels from Dance and Band to Lacrosse and Football.

 

Extended Family

Both our families are super excited about adding a new addition. We get together with ALL of our extended family at least twice a year, once is big Christmas party the first weekend of December where we sleep over 20 people in one house, part of the fun is finding a place to sleep! Then again during 4th of July but this time we usually have Tents! Matts parents live in Michigan on a lake where we visit about 1 weekend a month. In the warmer months we get to spend time out on the boat knee boarding, tubing, fishing and having fun!  Lindsey’s dad and his wife live in Mississippi we try our best to take trips down there 2 or 3 times a year and they visit us 3 or 4 times a year.  Vacationing is something we enjoy while we both work hard, we find getting away to recharge is important.  In between the weekend trips to Michigan in the summers and visits to Mississippi, we spend 1 or 2 weeks in Sanibel Florida and take a weeklong cruise to the Caribbean each year!

 

Lindsey on Matt

I knew from the beginning that Matt was my person, he has always put me on a pedestal and reminded me every day how special I was and what I meant to him. That hasn’t changed.  He is my rock. Not only is he an amazing husband, Matt is a wonderful father who enjoys doing fun things with Jordan. He is very hands on with Jordan. There are days when I’m at work on the weekends and Matt will take him to play laser tag, go to sky zone, go to an arcade or they will hang out at home and play video games together. We all enjoy watching movies together or simply playing board games. Jordan enjoys going shopping with me and helping out in the yard.

 

Matt on Lindsey

From the start of our relationship what I always have admired about Lindsey is how she is sincere and honest.  Lindsey is a family person that enjoys spending time with the people she loves.  She knows when to show patience but also knows how to tell you to pick up the pace when needed.  Her sense of humor is awesome, and we can bust out in laughter by simple looks shot back and forth.  We have a saying with each other, “I would not want to do it with anyone else!”  and it’s true, from the daily giggles, to trips across the U.S., and everything in between she is my everything.  Jordan and Lindsey’s relationship has been a joyful experience for me to be able to sit back and watch grow.  She has never been pushy but always let him know that she was there for him no matter what his needs are.  Knowing how close Lindsey and Jordan have grown together, I cannot wait to see her as a mom with a little one.  I can honestly say the best part of my day is coming home to my family and cannot wait to add to it.

 

Hi! From Jordan

Hi my name is Jordan Ray and I am 9 years old.  Somethings I like to do are playing sports, going on hikes, snuggling with my parents and playing on my Nintendo.  I look forward to the weekends because I get to see Dad and Lindsey.  Normally on the weekends I get to play video games with my Dad and hang out with Lindsey and the dogs.  I really like going to Michigan to see my Grammy and Papaw.  In the Summers I like going swimming with Callie and boating.  I have been knee boarding since I was 6 years old!  Papaw even lets me drive the boat.  We get to do a lot of different things like trampoline parks, laser tag, baseball games, bike rides, and weekend trips!

 

Thank you!

We would like to thank you for learning a little about us. As we value family so much, we understand how important you will be in this child’s life, and we can’t wait to get to know you!

Fun Facts

Lindsey

  • I love to do puzzles but only in the colder months!
  • I had my cosmetology license before I graduated high school.
  • I don’t eat mushrooms but love to eat the stuffing out of stuffed mushrooms.
  • I’ve been to over a dozen islands in the Caribbean.
  • My favorite place in the world is 85 and Sunny!
  • I have to go to sleep with the TV on.
  • I hate to lose, don’t ask about the family cornhole tournament last year!

Matt

  • I am an Eagle Scout and spent more than 7 years in scouting as a kid going all over the United States camping and backpacking!
  • I prefer coffee from the gas station verses coffee made at home.
  • I like to have a spoonful of peanut butter before bed!
  • I don’t eat raw tomatoes but love cooked tomatoes and things made of them.
  • I like to back into parking spaces rather than pulling straight in.
  • I collect Air Jordan tennis shoes.

Jordan

  • I hate to have socks on.
  • I’d rather shower than take a bath and even that is a fight sometimes.
  • I enjoy helping dad and Lindsey cook, well I like to start helping anyways!
  • I’m obsessed with Mexican food- not sure how I haven’t turned into a burrito yet!
  • I loves sports- baseball, soccer, football you name it!

Chloe & Callie, The Dogs

  • They are both rescues!
  • Chloe is the senior citizen 14 year old Boxer mix.
  • Callie is a 4 year old mix who is a momma’s girl!
  • When we get our suitcases out they get excited because they know more than likely they are going somewhere.
  • After they come in from going potty, they go straight to the refrigerator because they know it’s treat time!

Photos