Adam & Jennifer

Our Story

Hello, we are Adam, Jennifer, and Allison.   Jennifer is a manager in Human Resources who enjoys cooking healthy meals and trying creative projects including jewelry-making and sewing.  Adam is an IT Network Engineer who is an aviation enthusiast and has had his pilot’s license since he was 17. We are excited to be on our second adoption journey! We want you to know, we embrace open adoption and we cannot wait to give another child our love and attention. As a family, we love day trips and stay-cations.  A day at the zoo, a quick walk in the park, or building a back-yard-water park is our definition of fun!  We are very close to family and video call almost every day.  There are actually nine adoptees, including our daughter Allison, across our two families!

We have been married 7 years and together for 12 years.  We first met during our junior year of high school and became best friends very quickly.   We were (and still are!) the kind of friends that could talk for hours-on-end every day.  In fact, on our first date, a lady at the movie theater asked us if we could talk a little less! Oops! Today, we love taking a cup of coffee out to the back porch to sip while we chat.  As long as we have been together, growing our family through adoption was always part of our dream.  In January of 2019, our dream came true!  It brings us joy to watch Allison try all different new things and see her own unique personality shine through! 


About Adam (Written By Jennifer):

In the mornings while I get ready for the day, Allison has a few extra minutes of time with Adam.  Often, I peek out from the bedroom to catch the two sitting on the playroom floor building a giant block tower, or crawling in circles in the living room playing a silly game of roaring and chasing, or selecting a song for a daddy-daughter dance party.  But, the most special mornings are when I look out and catch Allison with heavy eyes, laying her head down on Adam’s shoulder and the two of them exchanging a secret contented smile.  These few minutes a day illustrate exactly the kind of dad Adam is – his world revolves around spending time with his child.  

In addition to being an amazing dad, Adam has a great sense of humor, makes the best cheesecake, loves to plan ahead, has an aptitude for learning new things, and loves his Nana more than anyone else I know!  


About Jennifer (Written By Adam)

Jennifer is the kind of person that always goes the extra mile to take care of someone.  To illustrate, when Allison was only a few weeks old and we were very sleep deprived, Jennifer once stayed up for several hours in the middle of the night to play with Allison because she was reverse cycling and in the mood to play.  She could have simply rocked Allison back to sleep, but she happily went along with what her baby wanted to do.  I always suspected Jennifer would be an excellent mother but seeing her be a mother to Allison has blown away even my highest expectations.  Jennifer is constantly looking for ways to expand the opportunities Allison has and encourage her to learn and do more.

Of course, this isn’t surprising to me.  Jennifer has always found a way to combine being a caretaker and a hard worker.  She is, and has always been, happiest when she’s working hard to help someone else.


Meet Allison!

Hi, I’m Allison!  I am two years old.  My favorite thing to do is to play outside!  I love to play chase and hide-and-seek with mom and dad.    And, I also like helping mom and dad bake.  I can even crack the eggs into the brownie batter bowl all by myself.  I also know how to help dad with the coffee machine in the morning.  We have a little coffee-making dance that we do together when the machine goes thump-thump-thump.   My favorite book is Brown Bear. I have all the words memorized.  I love my two cats and I often chase them around the house hoping to give them a big hug and kiss! I think that I will be the most awesome big sister!!


Being Parents:

As parents, we embrace hands-on-learning and exploration! Every day, we do a crafty activity and some hands-on learning such as painting, stringing beads, exploring magnets, or building puzzles.  Whenever the weather allows, we spend a lot of time outdoors exploring and getting messy!   Right now, we are focusing on teaching Allison how important it is to treat others with kindness.  As she grows, we really want to instill in her skills to be able to make good decisions on her own. And, every day, we make sure we tell Allison “I’m proud of you” many times!  We want to grow her self-confidence.

We both have jobs with generous time off policies and work from home opportunities that allow a lot of flexibility.  We are looking forward to sending Allison to a preschool program in the fall that shares our love of hands-on-learning and emphasizes outside play. One of our hopes for Allison over the next year or two is to let her try some activities including a gymnastics class, swim lessons, and children’s church choir.

Telling Allison her special adoption story is important to us. Allison treasures a photo from our first visit with her birth parents that we display on her dresser. And, she knows that she has her birth-mom’s beautiful smile and that she has her birth-dad’s cute tiny ears.  We know that every adoption story looks different.  We embrace openness and believe it is important to us that each child in our family knows their own story.


Our Home and Community:

If you were to step into our home on a typical Saturday morning you would probably first notice the inviting smell of Adam’s homemade lattes and hear some relaxing music playing in the background.  Then, you’d take a second glance and notice Jen washing sippy cups while watching Allison shrieking with glee as she chased after her cats with one sock off!  Our home is welcoming and cozy – but filled with the joyful chaos that comes with being parents of a toddler! 

Our home sits on a little over 2 acres and features a rolling Indiana cornfield view and a wood-line view.   On a nice-weathered day, we can be found watching for deer in the field, and watching Allison chase bubbles and play in the sprinkler.

We live about an hour from Indianapolis.  Our town has lots of great schools and  local parks. Our favorite nearby park has a paved trail for strollers and a toddler playground.  We have a local zoo and a small farm where the exhibits are set up for toddler height viewing!  There is a splash park near our home that includes a toddler wading area.  


Our Extended Family

Jen’s family likes to hike and camp, visit museums, and enjoys board games and joking around.  Adam’s family enjoys great meals and lots of trips together!  In both families, the kids are the center of attention!  We see family several times a month – we meet at a park, mall, or restaurant or visit each other’s houses.  While COVID has changed how we spend time with family, we have still found creative ways to be together including Face-Time tea parties, Skype birthday parties, and online game nights.


Friends, Fun, and Traditions:

For the past six years, we have had a group of friends through church who are also neighbors and the kinds of friends you exchange favors and babysitting with.  For fun, we have game nights or do an activity like cookie decorating (we even did virtual game nights and virtual cookie decorating this year!).  Our group started as four recently married couples, but has grown to include four babies and toddlers so far!

A favorite tradition is to spend a long weekend in Holland, Michigan in the fall. We enjoy views of the lake and window shopping downtown.  While in Michigan, we always attend Jen’s extended family reunion at a local park. In 2019, Allison got to experience the sandy beach and watch the seagulls.  And, she loved swinging alongside her cousins at the park!  


 In Closing:

Our promise is that your child will always know their special story.  And, we know from practice that our parenting style will focus on making sure every day has time spent together as a family – playing, learning, and making memories.  Most importantly, we promise every day, your child will hear so many “I love you’s.”  We are praying for you and would love the opportunity to get to know you!

Fun Facts


  • I’m an aviation enthusiast, and flew a plane before I drove a car.
  • I like making Saturday brunch for the family. My specialties include biscuits and gravy, omelets and pancakes.
  • For some, mowing the lawn may be a chore, but for me it’s one of my favorite ways to relax.
  • My favorite holiday memory is the handmade dinner rolls my grandmother makes. She still makes them to this day!
  • I used to love going out to coffee shops almost every day, but I now have an at-home espresso machine and have mastered making coffee-shop quality mochas, cappuccinos, and lattes.
  • My grandparents insisted that every Easter, all the grandkids had to hunt Easter eggs. This lasted into my early 20’s.
  • I traveled to 5 of the 7 continents before I turned 18.
  • I’ve never driven myself through a car wash, I’m too afraid I’ll break the machine.
  • My first job in high school was washing semi-trucks.
  • One of my favorite memories was building model rockets with my dad and I can’t wait until my kids are old enough that I can do that with them.


  • I love I LOVE LUCY episodes. My mom and I jokingly refer to ourselves as Ethel and Lucy when we have a mishap.
  • I love digging in the dirt. Every year I plant a few more flowers and I maintain a little herb garden. We hope to build a vegetable garden in the next year.
  • My favorite kind of food is traditional home-style food. Pot roast, chicken and noodles, and mashed potatoes are some of my favorites.
  • My fluffy orange eight year old cat Ollie is my fur-baby. He often lays on my desk when I am working from home between me and my keyboard.
  • I host a funny Christmas party theme for my side of the family every year. This past year, it was "Penguins Pancakes, and Pajamas." The year before that it was “Guacin around the Christmas Tree.”
  • I don’t have a creative bone in my body, but, I still really enjoy cooking, sewing, and making jewelry.
  • My favorite memories have been made at Lake Michigan! My grandfather and my aunt used to take me as a child, now I bring our family every year.
  • I am pretty good at jigsaw puzzles, but usually only do them during the holiday season.
  • I prefer to be barefoot! Sandals will do in a pinch!
  • I have had the same best friend since I was 13. We look similar and have birthdays just hours apart. Now, our kids are close in age and we text almost daily comparing notes on being moms of toddlers.


  • I love to play outdoors more than anything in the world. As soon as mom or dad open the back door, I sprint straight out and do a running lap before choosing what I want to play with.
  • My favorite games to play with mom and dad include hide-and-seek and also a made-up game we call roar-and-chase.
  • I love to help cook in the kitchen! I can stir baking mixes, crack eggs, frost cupcakes, and roll cookie-dough-balls.
  • I love to sing and dance! I make up my own songs and love playing my pink piano. I even have a funny french-fry dance!
  • I am great at building things. I especially like making towers with dad with my blocks.

Ollie & Maverick

  • Ollie and Maverick are super snuggly lap cats who usually want to be in on the action wherever the family is at.
  • Adam is Maverick’s person. Jen is Ollie’s person.
  • Ollie’s favorite foods include sweet leftover cereal milk or chicken; he can usually convince Allison to sneak him a bite under the table.
  • Maverick is eight years old but still plays like a kitten. He loves chasing strings that Allison pulls behind her.